CSM Doug Russell Award

The nomination period for the 2024 CSM Doug Russell Award will be open from 1 November 2023 through 2 February 2024.  

The CSM Doug Russell Award was established in 2000 to recognize the outstanding achievements of Soldiers within or on behalf of the Military Intelligence Community. In 1943, Mr. Russell entered the United States Army and began a lifelong career of military service to his country. He served in the Armed Forces during WWII, the Korean Conflict, as well as two tours of duty in Vietnam. In 1975, after 32 years of service, Mr. Russell retired from the United States Army with the rank of Command Sergeant Major. During his distinguished military career, he was awarded the Legion of Merit, the Bronze Star Medal, the Meritorious Service Medal, and numerous other commendations. He then moved to Washington, DC where he became the Director of Enlisted Services for the AUSA, a position he held from 1979 to 1993. From 1995 until his death in 2009, he held the position of President of The American Military Society, also in Washington, DC.

To be eligible, a candidate must be a Soldier in the rank of Sergeant (E-5) or below in the Active Army, Army Reserve or National Guard. While it is not mandatory that the candidate hold an MI Military Occupational Specialty (MOS), he/she must have performed actions that directly contribute to the MI Corps during the previous fiscal year.

Eligible candidates must meet the following criteria:

(1) Be a Soldier in the grade of Sergeant (E5)in the US Army during the period of eligibility. The MI Corps CSM may approve SSG packets if accomplishments were made as a SGT within the covered period.

(2) Be fully eligible for continued service for at least one year after award presentation. Award cannot be given posthumously.

(3) Must not be under unfavorable personnel action or UCMJ.

(4) Meet height and weight standards specified in Army Regulation (AR) 600-9.

(5) Maintain a current passing grade on the Army Combat Fitness Test (ACFT). The ACFT requirement is waived for deployed nominees who are unable to take the ACFT.

Nominations will be accepted only for individual Soldiers (no unit or group nominations). Soldiers cannot self-nominate.

Russell Award SOP 2024

Russell Award Recipients

2023     2023 Molina, Veronica
2022     SSG Jakubiec, Brandon, M.
2021     SSG Simpson, Marcus, L.
2020     SGT Avila, Antatenique
2019     SGT Ochoa, Oscar III
2017     SGT Christian, Calvin, R.
2016     SGT Guanlao, Angel, V.
2015     SGT Martinez, Matthew
2014     SGT Benjamin, Tyler
2013     SGT Bernard, Jeffrey
2012     SPC Giuliani, Camron
2011     SPC Fleetwood, Sasha
2010     SGT Cessna, Michael, D.
2009     SGT Jones, Julian, M.
2008     SGT Burnap, Todd
2007     CPL Heigh, Steven, M.
2006     SGT Paterson, Sarah
2005     SGT Bennett, Amber
2004     SPC Sheldon, Daniel, R.
2003     CPL Rapp, Andrew, C.
2002     SGT Sills, Deborah, L.
2001     SPC Sanchez, Ario