Lt. Gen. Sidney T. Weinstein Award for Excellence in Military Intelligence

The nomination period for the 2024 Lt. Gen. Sidney T. Weinstein Award for Excellence in Military Intelligence will be open from 1 November 2023 through 2 February 2024.

In 2007 the Military Intelligence Corps mourned the loss of Lt. Gen. Sidney T. Weinstein, a true MI icon fondly remembered as the Father of Modern Military Intelligence. General Weinstein was not only a fine officer; he was a mentor, role model, a friend to many, and a dedicated family man. In honor of his service, the MI Corps created the Lt. Gen. Sidney T. Weinstein Award for Excellence in Military Intelligence. Each year the award recognizes one outstanding Military Intelligence captain who, through his or her actions, demonstrates the values and ideals for which Lt. Gen. Weinstein stood: Duty, Honor, and Country. It is meant to promote and sustain competent Military Intelligence company-grade officers for future leadership in the Army, as well as the advancement of the Military Intelligence Corps.

The Weinstein Award is intended to recognize the leadership contributions of a captain in the field of Military Intelligence during the previous fiscal year. Eligible candidates must meet the following criteria:

(1) Be a captain (CPT/O-3) in the U.S. Army during the period of eligibility. Nominees must not be promotable at the time of nomination submission. Participation is open to Military Intelligence captains of the Active Army, Army National Guard and U.S. Army Reserve.

(2) Possess either an MI Officer Area of Concentration (AOC) or a 15C/35 AOC.

(3) Be fully eligible for continued service for at least one year after award presentation. Award cannot be given posthumously.

(4) Must not be under unfavorable personnel action or UCMJ.

(5) Meet height and weight standards specified in Army Regulation (AR) 600-9.

(6) Maintain a current passing grade on the Army Combat Fitness Test (ACFT). The ACFT requirement is waived for deployed nominees who are unable to take the ACFT.

LTG Weinstein Award SOP 2024

Weinstein Award Recipients

2023     2023 Abrahamson, Brennan, R.
2022     CPT Matthews, Leo, E.
2021     CPT Oroho, Meghan, S.
2020     CPT Hoerold, Kevin
2019     CPT Mizead, Abdulla
2018     CPT Nesbitt, Bryan, J
2017     CPT Philhower, Christopher, R.
2016     CPT Feifer, Joseph
2015     CPT Fust, George
2014     CPT Lorenz, Chad
2013     CPT Ryan, Kevin
2012     CPT Juarez, Gilbert
2011     CPT Traylor, Nadia
2010     CPT Bailey, Charles
2009     CPT Bailey, Travis
2008     CPT Culpepper, Timothy